Bloomington Community Band


Originally established in 2014, the BCB’s named chairs require a minimum donation of $5,000 in order to honor the memory of a person.  BCB members who hold the chairs must have made significant contributions to the BCB through their playing and/or service.  First holder of the Sawyer Brass Chair was Doug Davis.  Guy Hardy first held the Lang Woodwinds chair.  The largely ceremonial position of concertmaster is always held by the first-chair clarinetist.

Paul O. Sawyer Brass Abigail Ray Gary Wiggins
Robert A. Phillips Conductor Dominic Thompson Charles H. Davis
Ralph Leucht Concertmaster Karen Willett Charles H. Davis
RoseMary Lang Woodwinds Richard Denning Charles H. Davis
Charles Davis Memorial Tom Dillon Band Supporters

Paul O. Sawyer was director of bands at several Indiana high schools, including Charlestown, Tipton, Dover, Decatur Central and Greenwood.

Robert A. Phillips was a founder and conductor of the Indianapolis Symphonic Band.

Ralph Leucht was a long-time concertmaster of the Indianapolis Symphonic Band and solo clarinetist with the Indianapolis Philharmonic Orchestra.

RoseMary Lang was professor of clarinet and other woodwinds at Butler’s Jordan Conservatory of Music.

Charles Davis was Concertmaster and principal clarinetist, and made numerous contributions to the BCB. .


In conjunction with the inaugural endowment fund drive in 2012, the band established two named funds, one for its founding director,  Newell Long, and the other for long-time Indiana University music librarian Ralph Papakhian.